NSA Scholarship Foundation Announces 2017 Scholarship Winners

By NSA Admin posted 06-23-2017 12:14 PM



Thirty students have earned scholarships from the National Society of Accountants (NSA) Scholarship Foundation. Together, they will receive $37,950 in scholarship awards.

The Foundation has provided more than $1 million since 1969 to deserving undergraduate and graduate students who are committed to pursuing a career in accounting, helping to develop more qualified young accountants.

The scholarships range from $500 - $3,000. Recipients were selected on the basis of an overall outstanding academic record, demonstrated leadership and participation in school and community activities, honors, work experience, stated goals and aspirations, and financial need.

“These students are the best and brightest candidates working to earn accounting degrees,” says NSA Scholarship Foundation President Sharon E. Cook, EA, ABA, ATA, ATP, ARA. “We are pleased to support them and look forward to having them join the accounting profession.”

The 2017 scholarship recipients are listed below with their universities, the NSA Affiliated Organizations or the named scholarships that provided funding, and the amount of each scholarship:

Katelyn Adams
Robert Morris University    
Milton Brown Award: $1,000

Aileen Duong          
Gonzaga University
Washington Association of Accounting and Tax Professionals: $2,000

Adam Cochran        
University of Missouri-Columbia  
Missouri Society of Accountants: $1,000

Rachel Colburn      
University of Georgia         
Stanley H. Stearman Award: $2,000

Bailey Skinner        
Louisiana Tech University
Louisiana Society of Independent Accountants: $2,000

Amanda Wicstrom  
Washington State University        
Washington Association of Accounting and Tax Professionals: $2,000

Bethany Scheerer  
University of Maryland-College Park      
Maryland Society of Accounting & Tax Professionals: $1,000

Esther Chai  
St. John's University-New York    
New York Society of Independent Accountants: $750

Caleb Niemietz        
Arizona State University    
Arizona Society of Practicing Accountants: $1,000

Courtney Burchett  
George Mason University
NSA Sager Award: $1,000

Dillon Groves           
Ouachita Baptist University          
Ronny Woods Memorial Award: $1,000

Daisjuan Burns       
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign       
Independent Accountants Association of Illinois: $2,000

Erin Kilpatrick          
Jacksonville State University        
Alabama Association of Accountants and Tax Preparers: $1,800

Cassi Johnson        
Stetson University  
Florida Society of Accounting & Tax Professionals: $1,000

Jessica Martinez     
The University of Tampa   
Florida Society of Accounting & Tax Professionals: $1,000

Jordan Hamada      
University of Oregon          
Oregon Association of Independent Accountants: $1,000

John Neu     
University of Wisconsin-Parkside
Wisconsin Association of Accountants Southeast Chapter: $500

Kiki Smith     
University of Colorado Denver     
Chester Borelli Award/Public Accountants Society of Colorado: $1,000

Kingston Handley   
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
North Carolina Society of Accountants: $2,000

Lauren Schmidt      
Doane College        
Nebraska Society of Independent Accountants: $1,000

Melissa Harris          
Athens State University     
Alabama Association of Accountants and Tax Preparers: $1,000

Audrey Manser
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Wisconsin Association of Accountants: $1,000

Nathan Nalley         
University of Arkansas at Little Rock       
Arkansas Society of Accountants: $1,100

Amanda Parr
Milwaukee Area Technical College
Wisconsin Association of Accountants Southeast Chapter: $500

Rosemarie Rivard
University of Alaska Southeast    
Alaska Society of Independent Accountants: $500

Stephen Snyder      
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University      
Millard Ashley Memorial Award: $1,000

Terrence Henderson          
University of Phoenix-Phoenix-Hohokam Campus
Arizona Society of Practicing Accountants: $2,000

Tyler Westover         
Brigham Young University
Florida Society of Accounting & Tax Professionals Peace River Chapter: $300

Yena Yang   

University of California-Berkeley 
Foundation Trustees Award: $1,500

Zhishan Liang         
Florida International University    
Florida Society of Accounting & Tax Professionals: $3,000

To learn more about the NSA Scholarship Foundation program or to make contributions, visit www.nsacct.org/scholarships. The next window to apply for scholarships is January-March 2018.



Featured Blogs